Vilnius-Hotels.net
Vilnius-Hotels.net

Гостиницы Вильнюса
Тел. в Санкт-Петербурге: +7 (812) 325-40-44
Тел. в Москве: +7 (495) 626-03-91

в Вильнюсе:


Общие сведенияВильнюсДостопримечательностиМузеиТеатрыАктивный отдыхКлубыРестораны

главная путеводитель вильнюс, рига

ВИЛЬНЮС

    Добро пожаловать в Вильнюс, столицу Литвы! Этот удивительный город является прекрасным местом для туризма и отдыха. Современная культура Вильнюса полностью отражает разнообразие городской жизни. Сегодня, также как и в средневековье, город является одним из самых значительных культурных центров Восточной Европы.
    В зале Филармонического общества постоянно проходят концерты и вечера классической музыки; на сценах оперного и балетного театров, Молодежного театра, Академического театра Драмы ставятся как классические, так и экспериментальные пьесы. В Вильнюсе работают семь художественных галерей, есть большой центр современного искусства. Столица Литвы знаменита на всю Прибалтику своими коммерческими выставками и ярмарками.
    Благодаря своему выгодному географическому положению Вильнюс выполняет функцию ворот в страны Балтии. Основные гостиницы, рестораны, посольства, коммерческие представительства, банки и офисы компаний находятся в центральной части города. Многочисленные пункты обмена валюты позволяют не беспокоится по поводу обмена денег. А в большинстве магазинов Вы сможете оплатить покупки, пользуясь кредитной картой.
    Вильнюс известен своей великой историей, великолепными памятниками архитектуры и удивительной природой. В городе много промышленных предприятий с высококвалифицированной рабочей силой.
    Старый Город достойно стоит в ряду самых выдающихся мировых памятников культуры. Все важнейшие европейские стили - готика, ренессанс, барокко и классицизм - внесли свой вклад в архитектуру города, определив тем самым его неповторимый облик. Церкви, замки, дворцы и музеи Вильнюса представляют собой великое историческое наследие Литвы. Старый Город Вильнюса внесен в список Мирового Культурного Наследия ЮНЕСКО.
    В этом современном городе с крупными историческими памятниками, развитой инфраструктурой и богатой культурной и деловой жизнью каждый найдет для себя что-нибудь привлекательное.

ИСТОРИЯ ВИЛЬНЮСА

    Вильнюс - один из самых древних городов Литвы. Он простирается по обоим берегам быстротечной реки Нерис, среди поросших сосновыми лесами холмов. Издревле это было важное место пересечения торговых путей, идущих из Прибалтики к Черному Морю и из Западной Европы в Среднюю Азию.
    Согласно легенде, начало развитию города положил сон, приснившийся великому князю Гедиминасу, в котором он видел воющего железного волка на одном из многочисленных холмов неподалеку от Вильнюса. Старейший литовский оракул объяснил, что этот сон пророчит городу великую славу. После этого Гедиминас провозгласил Вильнюс королевским городом и создал все условия для его дальнейшего политического, экономического и культурного развития. На холме была воздвигнута крепость - так называемый Верхний Замок.
     Важно заметить, что славянское население оказало сильное влияние на административное устройство, социально-экономическое и культурное развитие Великого княжества Литовского. В начале 13 века западные русские земли приняли участие в создание Литовского княжества, созданного для защиты от Ливонского ордена и татар, разоривших восточные и южные области Руси.
    Великий князь Ягайло, который в результате династического брака был провозглашен королем Польши, положил начало совместной истории Литвы и Польши, которая в дальнейшем длилась 400 лет и была отмечена заключением различных союзов и договоров. Однако первый союз, в результате которого Вильнюс становится столицей союзного государства, а литовские земли принимают христианство, продлился не долго.
    Другой знаменитый литовский правитель Витовт Великий считается основателем литовского могущества. Под его руководством литовско-русские войска нанесли поражение Тевтонскому ордену в битве под Танненбергом. Результатом этой победы стал упадок ордена и развитие прибалтийских территорий.
    Следуя примеру ремесленников других прибалтийских городов, в 15 веке вильнюсские мастера также начинают объединяться в гильдии по профессиональным признакам. Торговля и ремесла развивались стремительными темпами вплоть до начала 18 века. В городе появляется множество новых прекрасных зданий с характерными для поздней готики и ренессанса чертами. Наиболее значительным событием в жизни Вильнюса в 16 веке стало основание Вильнюсской академии, впоследствии получившей статус университета.
     Борьба за влияние в восточной Прибалтике в 1558-1583 гг. вылилась в войну Великого княжества Литовского и Московского государства. Военные неудачи литовской стороны, территориальные потери привели к еще одному сближению с Польшей. В результате Люблинской Унии 1569 года Великое княжество Литовское и королевство Польское объединились в единое федеративное государство под названием Речь Посполита.
     В 1795 в результате раздела Речи Посполитой между Россией, Австрией и Пруссией Вильнюс становится центром губернии. В это время были построены великолепные здания в стиле классицизм: ратуша, дворец правительства, а также перестроен Кафедральный собор. В 1860 году железнодорожный путь, соединяющий Варшаву и Санкт-Петербург, был проложен через Вильнюс.
     В ходе первой мировой войны Вильнюс три года был оккупирован войсками кайзера. 6 февраля совет провозгласил независимость Литовской республики. Однако уже осенью 1920 года Вильнюс был оккупирован польскими войсками. 10 октября 1939 года Литва и Советский союз подписывают договор о взаимопомощи, по которому Вильнюс возвращается Литве. В 1940 году советские войска занимают Вильнюс, который с этого времени становится столицей Литовской ССР.
    11 марта 1990 года решением верховного совета восстанавливается независимость Литвы, и Вильнюс провозглашается столицей республики.

Vilnius-Hotels.net
Vilnius-Hotels.net

Discounted accommodation in Vilnius
Our guide features hotels, tours, attractions,
museums, restaurants, and more.

in Vilnius:


Quick factsVilniusSightsMuseumsTheatresActivitiesNight ClubsRestaurants

main destination guide vilnius

VILNIUS

    Welcome to the ancient capital of Lithuania! Vilnius is an amazing place for tourism, vacations as well as for business visits. The modern culture of Vilnius fully reflects the diversity of city life. Nowadays it plays the same great role in cultural life of Eastern Europe as it used to in Medieval Times. Evenings of classical music and competitions are held at the Philharmonic Society Hall. Operas, ballets and plays are staged at the Opera and Ballet Theatre, the Youth Theatre, the Academic Drama Theatre. There are seven art galleries and a huge modern art center in the city. The Lithuanian capital is also famous for its commercial fairs and exhibitions.
    Almost all hotels and a dormitory for young people are situated in the central part of the city. There are many restaurants and cafes where you can find a great variety of different foods, from Lithuanian to East European or North American dishes.
    Embassies, business representations, agencies, office buildings are also located in the center. The banks of Vilnius are concentrated in the historical Old Town or nearby. There are many currency exchange centers. One can obtain goods and services using credit cards and travel checks.
     Advantageous geographical location makes Vilnius a gateway to Lithuania and the Baltic States. International airport is within half an hour from the city center.
     Vilnius is famous for its historical past, monuments, churches and green surroundings. There are also many industrial enterprises with educated labor force.
    The Old Part of Vilnius is among the most prominent monuments of culture in the world. Epoch-making European styles have left their distinct traces in the city's architecture. Churches, castles, palaces and museums of Vilnius introduce the great historical heritage of this country. Because of its originality and great cultural value the Old Town of Vilnius is listed in the World Heritage Register of UNESCO.
    This modern city with great historical monuments, well-developed infrastructure and rich cultural and business life has something attractive to everyone.

History of Vilnius

    Vilnius is one of the oldest cities in Lithuania. It stretches along both banks of the fast flowing Neris River, and is set among pine forests hills. It was an important crossroad of internal and international merchant routes, which led from the Baltic to the Black Sea and from Western Europe to the Middle East.
    The prosperity of Vilnius city is symbolized in the legend about the grand Duke Gediminas. While sleeping he saw a roaring iron wolf on one of the numerous Vilnius hills. The oldest Lithuanian prophet explained the dream as meaning that the town's reputation and fame would spread far and wide. Having declared Vilnius his "royal town", Gediminas set conditions for its subsequent growth as a political, economical and cultural center of Lithuania. The so called Upper Castle, the fortress on the Castle Hill, was used for defense purposes.
     It is also important to note that Slavonic population greatly influenced the administrative structure, socio-economic and cultural development of the Grand Duchy of Lithuania. Early in the 13th century, West Russian lands took part in the creation of the Lithuanian Grand Duchy, which was necessitated by the threat from Livonian Order and Tartars that captured eastern and southern provinces of Russia in 1230-1240s.
     The Grand Duke Jogaila (Jagiello), after becoming the King of Poland in 1386, started the 400-year common history of Lithuania and Poland, which was marked by several agreements and unions. As a result of this union with Vilnius as a capital, Christianity finally came to Lithuania.
Another famous Lithuanian ruler Vytautas the Great was the most prominent founder of Lithuanian might. He was the organizer and leader of the Tannenberg Battle that was the greatest battle against the Teutonic Order. The result of this battle was the decline of the Order and the development of Baltic countries, which gained more independence.
     Following the craftsmen of other European towns at the end of the 15th century, Vilnius craftsmen began to unite by professions into guilds. Crafts and trade continued to develop in the 16th century. Many new beautiful buildings in the late Gothic and Renaissance style appeared in the town this time. The most significant event in the cultural life of the 16th century Lithuania was the founding of the Vilnius Academy in 1579, which was endowed with the rights and privileges of a university.
     In the 16th century, the Lithuanian rulers' palace with its great treasures was a famous center of science and culture. One of the greatest scientific libraries was established there. Later the books were handed over to the library of Vilnius University. The 16th and the first part of the 17th century witnessed the flourishing of the Lithuanian capital as a Renaissance town.
     The struggle for influence in the Eastern Baltic region resulted in the Livonian war of 1558-1583 between the Grand Duchy of Lithuania and the Moscow state. Failures of the army of the Grand Duchy of Lithuania, including the loss of Polotsk, led to a closer union with Poland. As a result of the Liublin Unia of 1569, the Grand Duchy of Lithuania and the Kingdom of Poland united into a federal state called Rzecz Pospolita with a common monarch and council.
     In 1795, Vilnius became the center of a new province consisting of the lands annexed to the Russian Empire. This was a result of division of Rzecz Pospolita between three empires - Russia, Austria and Prussia. A number of new Classical style buildings were built, including the Cathedral, which had been reconstructed at the end of the 18th century, a new town hall, and the Governor's Palace. In 1860, a railway, which connected Saint Petersburg and Warsaw, was laid across Vilnius.
     During World War I, Vilnius was occupied by the Kaiser's troops for three and a half years. On the 16th of February, 1918, the Council in Vilnius proclaimed independence of the Lithuanian Republic. In the autumn of 1920, Vilnius was occupied by Poland. On October 10, 1939, Lithuania and the Soviet Union signed a treaty on mutual aid, in accordance with which Vilnius was returned to Lithuania. In 1940, Vilnius became the capital of Soviet Lithuania.
     On March 11th, 1990, the Supreme Council restored Lithuania's independence.